Advisory Committee

Alain Aspect Alain Aspect
... is Augustin Fresnel Professor at Institut d'Optique, Professor at Ecole Polytechnique, and CNRS Distinguished Scientist (Directeur de recherche CNRS) emeritus at Laboratoire Charles Fabry. He is a member of the French Academy of Sciences, the French Academy of Technologies, and of the Royal Society (UK). In 2005, he was awarded the Gold Medal of the Centre national de la recherche scientifique, where he is currently Research Director. The 2010 Wolf Prize in physics was awarded to Alain Aspect, Anton Zeilinger, and John Clauser. In 2013, he was awarded the Danish Niels Bohr International Gold Medal, and was also awarded the Balzan Prize for Quantum Information Processing and Communication. The International Balzan Prize Foundation awarded Alain Aspect in 2013 "for his pioneering experiments which led to a striking confirmation of Quantum Mechanics as opposed to local hidden-variable theories. His work has opened the way to the experimental control of entangled quantum states, the essential element of Quantum Information Processing."
Gerd Leuchs Gerd Leuchs
... is one of the director of the Max-Planck-Institute for the Science of Light (MPL) in Erlangen, Germany, an Adjunct Professor at the University of Ottawa in Canada and an honorary Professor of the St. Petersburg State University, Russia. He is the Fellow of the European Optical Society, of the Optical Society of America and of the Institute of Physics, UK. He is also a member of the German Academy of Science Leopoldina and the Russian Academy of Sciences. He received his PhD in 1978 and Habilitation degree in 1982 from Ludwig-Maximilians University in Munich. Also in 1979, he received a Feodor-Lynen Stipend from the Alexander-von-Humboldt Foundation and, from 1983 to 1985, a Heisenberg-Fellowship of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft. In 1980/81, he was a Visiting Fellow at the Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics at Boulder, Colorado. At this time, his scientific work concentrated on laser spectroscopy and multi-photon processes. From 1985 to 1989, he was leading the gravitational-wave-detection group at the Max-Planck-Institut for Quantenoptik in Garching. From 1990 to 1994, he was the Technical Director of Nanomach AG, Switzerland and, in 1994, he was appointed the Chair of Optics at Erlangen University. From 2003 to 2008, he was the director of the Max-Planck Research Group Optics on Information and Photonics. After two successful scientific evaluations when the Max Planck Society decided to establish the new Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light at Erlangen, then in January 2009, he became one of its directors. In 2005 he won the Quantum Electronics Prize of the European Physical Society. In 2012 he received the cross of merit of the Federal republic of Germany. In 2013 he won the ERC Advanced Grant and recently in 2016 he also received the honorary doctoral degree from the Danish Technical University (DTU) in Lyngby, Denmark.
Sébastien Tanzilli Sébastien Tanzilli Research Director at CNRS, with the Laboratoire de Physique de la Matière Condensée (LPMC) at the University Nice Sophia Antipolis (UNS). At LPMC, he leads the team “Quantum Information with Light & Matter” (QILM), which aims at exploiting integrated photonics and cold atomic ensembles as enabling technologies for quantum communication and information science. He was awarded the 2014 UNS outstanding research prize, one of the 2013 Grants from the Simone & Cino Del Duca (Institut de France) Research Foundation, the 2010 IXCORE Research Foundation prize, the 2009 CNRS Bronze Medal, and the 2008 Fabry - de Gramont Prize from the French Optical Society (SFO).
Online user: 1 RSS Feed